## **ORDINANCE NO. 43-15**

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 31, SECTION 31.016 OF THE TIPPECANOE COUNTY CODE; CHAPTER 2.04, SECTION 2.04.010 OF THE LAFAYETTE CITY CODE; CHAPTER 24, SECTION 24.22 OF THE WEST LAFAYETTE CITY CODE; CHAPTER 32, SECTION 32.035 OF THE TOWN OF DAYTON CODE; AND ORDINANCE NO. 329 OF THE TOWN OF BATTLEGROUND; AND ORDINANCE NO. 95-4 OF THE TOWN OF CLARKS HILL.

PROVIDING FOR REPRESENTATION ON THE AREA PLAN COMMISSION OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY

WHEREAS, the City of West Lafayette, Indiana, did on October 15, 2014, become a second class city as designated in Indiana Code chapter 36-4-1;

WHEREAS, the designation of the City of West Lafayette, Indiana, warrants a change in the membership structure of the Area Plan Commission of Tippecanoe County, Indiana; and WHEREAS, each participating municipality within the Area Plan Commission of Tippecanoe County must each adopt a similar ordinance when the membership is provided for under Indiana Code 36-7-4-211.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED by the Common council of the City of West Lafayette, Indiana, as follows:

Section I: That Section 24.22 of the West Lafayette City Code, Chapter 24 is hereby amended to read as follows:

The representation, both as to the number of members and the qualification of members of the Area Plan Commission of Tippecanoe County shall be pursuant to IC 36-7-4-211, fixed at a total of seventeen (17) members, to be determined as follows:

- A. Two representatives who shall be members of the County Board of Commissioners and who shall be chosen by such Board of Commissioners and whose term shall be fixed by such Board, but shall not exceed their terms as such Commissioners.
- B. Two representatives who shall be members of the County Council and who shall be chosen by such Council and whose term shall be fixed by such Council, but shall not exceed their terms on such Council.
- C. A representative who shall be an elected official, who shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of Lafayette and whose term shall correspond to such elected official's term.
- D. One representative who shall be a member of the City Council of the City of Lafayette, and who shall be chosen by such City Council and whose term shall be fixed by such Council, but shall not exceed such Council member's term on such Council.
- E. A representative who shall be an elected official, who shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of West Lafayette and whose term shall correspond to such elected official's term.

- F. One representative who shall be a member of the City Council of the City of West Lafayette, and who shall be chosen by such City Council and whose term shall be fixed by such Council, but shall not exceed such Council member's term on such Council.
- G. One representative who shall be a member of the Town Board of the Town of Battle Ground, Indiana and who shall be chosen by such Town Board and whose term shall be fixed by such Town Board, but shall not exceed such Town Board member's term.
- H. One representative who shall be a member of the Town Council of the Town of Clarks Hill, Indiana and who shall be chosen by such Town Council and whose term shall be fixed by such Town Council, but shall not exceed his or her term on such Town Council. The initial term shall begin on July 1, 1995, or the month of the adoption of this provision by the last adopting member unit, whichever is latest.
- I. One representative who shall be a member of the Town Board of the Town of Dayton, Indiana and who shall be chosen by such Town Board and whose term shall be fixed by such Town Board, but shall not exceed such Town Board member's term.
- J. Two representatives who shall be citizen members holding no other elected or appointed municipal, county, or state office, who shall be appointed by the County Board of County Commissioners which appointees having heretofore been appointed shall continue in their present term and whose successor shall thereafter be appointed for a term of two years.
- K. Two representatives who shall be citizen members holding no other elected or appointed municipal, county, or state office, who shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of West Lafayette. The current appointee having heretofore been appointed shall continue in the present term. The initial term of the new appointee shall be for two years beginning on January 1, 2016. Thereafter all appointments shall be for a terms of two years.
- L. Two representatives who shall be citizen members holding no other elected or appointed municipal, county, or state office, who shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of Lafayette, which appointees having heretofore been appointed shall continue in their present terms and whose successor shall thereafter be appointed for a term of two years.

INTRODUCED ON FIRST READING ON THE <u>9</u> DAY OF <u>November</u> , 2015.
MOTION TO ADOPT MADE BY COUNCILOR <u>Keen</u> , and seconded by councilor <u>Burch</u> .
DULY ORDAINED, PASSED, AND ADOPTED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF WEST LAFAYETTE, INDIANA, ON THE <b>7</b> DAY OF <b>December</b> , 2015, HAVING BEEN PASSED BY A VOTE OF <b>7</b> IN FAVOR AND <b>0</b> OPPOSED, THE ROLL CALL VOTE BEING:

	AYE	NAY	ABSENT	ABSTAIN
Bunder				
Burch	/			
DeBoer	V			1
Dietrich	V			
Hunt	W			
Keen	V			
Thomas				

Prediding Officer

Attest:

Judith C. Rhodes, Clerk-Treasurer

PRESENTED BY ME TO THE MAYOR OF THE CITY OF WEST LAFAYETTE, INDIANA ON THE 9 DAY OF <u>December</u>, 2015, AT THE HOUR OF <u>1:00 P.M</u>.

Judith C. Rhodes, Clerk-Treasurer

THIS ORDINANCE APPROVED AND SIGNED BY ME ON THE 10 DAY OF December, 2015, AT THE HOUR OF 8:30 A.M.

ohij R. Dennis, Mayor

Attest:

Judith C. Rhodes, Clerk-Treasurer